MS Amlin appoints two non-executive directors

Insurance company MS Amlin Underwriting Limited (MS AUL) has announced the appointments of Johan Slabbert and Martin Hudson as non-executive directors.

Subject to regulatory approval, Slabbert will also be appointed chairman of the MS AUL board, succeeding Gilles Bonvarlet who will transition to an independent non-executive director role. 

Hudson will take on additional duties as chairman of the MS AUL underwriting committee.

MS AUL has also announced that Derek Thornton, who serves as a non-executive director, is to retire from the board. 

Slabbert has more than two decades of international experience in both CEO and CFO roles. He joins MS AUL whilst serving as chairman of Mitsui Sumitomo Insurance Company.

Prior to this, he began his career at AIG before joining Chaucer Limited as CFO, where he held the position of CEO for two years, and serving as operating partner and CEO of Augustus Specialty.

Hudson joins the company with 30 years of experience in senior leadership roles across a diverse number of insurance and reinsurance companies. Hudson currently advises Apollo Syndicate Management, Sirius and Old Mutual Specialty Insurance in various non-executive capacities. 

Previously, Hudson headed Travelers Insurance Company and Old Mutual Specialty Insurance

Tom Clementi, CEO said: “I am delighted to announce the appointments of Johan and Martin to MS AUL’s already strong leadership team. They both bring years of market expertise and experience, and strong leadership qualities, that will make an immediate impact at MS Amlin.

“I would like to take this opportunity to thank Gilles who will continue as a key part of our leadership team, and Derek who retires from the MS AUL board after many years of dedicated service. We wish him the very best for the future.”

Show More
Back to top button